Aquarius String Quartet

Ticket price

£12, £10


The Aquarius String Quartet return to The Witham after a popular concert in April this year with a delightful mix of music from Purcell to present day via Haydn and Elgar with spoken introductions by the players.

The Manchester-based quartet will take us on a fascinating journey through classical favourites including Haydn Opus 64 no 5, known as “The Lark” (naturally following on from “The Bird” they played in April) and Dvorak Opus 96 “The American”. Here is the detailed programme:


Turina (1882-1949) : The Bullfighter’s Prayer

Haydn (1732-1809) : Quartet in D, opus 64 no.5, “The Lark”

     Allegro moderato


     Menuet and Trio


Borodin (1833-1887) : Nocturne from Quartet no.2


Piazzolla (1921-1992) arr. Spilsbury : Libertango

Dvorak (1841-1904) : Quartet in Fmajor, opus 96, “The American”

     Allegro ma non troppo


     Molto vivace

     Vivace ma non troppo

Each half will be approximately 40 minutes long, including spoken introductions.

The players will guide you along the way with spoken introductions to all the music.

All Music All What's on